General Election 2024: local constituency changes and candidate statements

Screenshot 2024-06-21 at 12.24.34

Voters will go to the polls on 4 July for the General Election. The UK is divided into 650 constituencies, with Redbridge covered by four of them: Ilford North, Ilford South, Leyton and Wanstead and Chingford and Woodford Green.

The South Woodford Village Gazette presents statements from all 14 candidates standing across the Leyton and Wanstead and Chingford and Woodford Green constituencies, both of which have been expanded following a boundary review in 2023. The revised boundaries mean an additional 3,900 households are now voting for the Leyton and Wanstead MP, and an additional 5,500 households are voting for the Chingford and Woodford Green MP.

Polling stations open at 7am and close at 10pm, and for the first time in a general election, photo ID is required to vote in person.